Board (NT) - Australian Earth Science Education

Board (NT)

Ryan Noble

Ryan Noble


Senior Research Scientist, CSIRO
Board Member since 2014

Ryan is a Principal Research Scientist and the Group Leader of Predictive Mineral Systems Science with CSIRO. He has a BSc and MSc in Soil Science from the University of Tennessee and a PhD in Applied Geology from Curtin University. Following his PhD, Ryan joined CSIRO 15 years ago and has worked on numerous regolith and groundwater geochemistry projects related to gold, base metal, Ni and U mineral exploration. Ryan is the Past-President and a Fellow of the Association of Applied Geochemists. He is a Board member of the Australian Geoscience Council and Elements journal.

Susan Cull

Manager, People and Communities

Manager, People and Communities, The Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia
Board Member Since 2017

Susan is currently employed by the Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia as Manager, People and Communities, and was Senior Policy Adviser for the nine years prior. In addition to her experience in a membership organisation representing the Western Australian resources sector, she is also a registered teacher with primary classroom experience and has provided education support and resources in her previous role as Education Officer with the Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia (2001-2003).

Angela Riganti


Content Manager, Geological Survey of WA, Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety

Board Member Since 2018

Angela graduated from the University of Milan (Italy), then completed the MSc in Economic Geology at Rhodes University and a PhD at the University of Natal (Pietermaritzburg) in South Africa. She joined the Geological Survey of Western Australia in 1997, working first as a regional geologist mapping in the Yilgarn Craton, and later as a Content Manager designing geological databases. Throughout her career, she has collaborated in various geotourism and educational projects with different organisations (within and outside government) to foster interest in geoscience and to promote community awareness of the role and importance of the earth sciences in everyday life.

Damien Beng


General Manager, Treasury, Woodside Energy
Board Member Since 2022

Damien is the Assistant Treasurer at Woodside Energy, Australia’s leading natural gas producer, committed to providing sustainable energy solutions. Damien has a Bachelor of Engineering (Mechanical) with first class honours and a Bachelor of Science (Information Technology and Applied Mathematics) from the University of Western Australia and a Post Graduate Diploma in Applied Finance & Investment from the Securities Institute of Australia. Since joining Woodside in 2001, Damien has held a number of Strategy, Marketing and Commercial roles before leading the Woodside Treasury team since 2018.

Dr Natasha Hendrick

Governance Committee Chair

Principal Geophysicist, Santos

Board Member Since 2020

Natasha is a scientist, volunteer, adventurer, mentor and advocate for women in leadership. She has her PhD in geophysics and is the recipient of a Rhodes Scholarship and Churchill Fellowship. Natasha has 25 years’ experience working in technical and leader roles across the energy industry. She is currently a Principal Geophysicist at Santos, a Board Advisor for Women Who Code, and an international leadership facilitator. She is part of the Homeward Bound global leadership initiative for women in STEMM, and is passionate about helping women succeed in STEMM and navigate a digital future where human leadership competencies are needed more than ever.

Yvette Manolas

Governance Committee Member

GM Climate Solutions, Woodside Energy

Board Member Since 2021

Yvette Manolas joined Woodside, as an engineering and commerce graduate in 2002. After a long and varied career, she is currently the GM of Climate Solutions. Previously Yvette was the Asset Manager of the Pluto gas field, responsible for approximately 45% of Woodside’s revenue. In 2021 Yvette was recognised as a finalist in the Chamber of Minerals and Energy Outstanding Woman in Resources award, and in 2009 awarded the WA Young Business Woman of the Year and 2010 the 40 Under 40. Yvette is a strong advocate for education, learning and careers in earth science. She believes everyone should be able to pursue their dreams.

Natalie Chapman

Board Member

Managing Director, gemaker
Board Member Since 2022

Natalie founded gemaker: a team of STEM commercialisation experts helping Australian researchers and innovators to impact global markets. She is also Corporate Communications Manager for Alkane Resources, Chair of the Advisory Committee to the School of Chemistry at UNSW and a member of the External Advisory Board to the UOW Faculty of Business and Law. Previously, Natalie was Leader of Business Development and Marketing at ANSTO, General Manager of Commercialisation at the Smart Services CRC, and a Director of KCA. She holds a BSc (Hons) from UNSW and a MCom (Marketing) and an MBA from UOW. In 2018, Natalie received the UOW Alumni Award for Innovation and Entrepreneurship.

Joanne Thompson

Board Member

Committee  member, Science Teachers’ Association of Western Australia
Science Teacher, Department of Education, Western Australia

Board Member Since 2022

Joanne Thompson is a secondary science teacher, specialising in Environmental Science and Chemistry. Prior to joining the teaching profession, she worked as an environmental scientist and consultant and has more than 15 years’ international experience in all stages of mine life, from exploration to mine closure and reclamation. She serves on the committee of the Science Teachers’ Association of Western Australia and is a member of the WA School Curriculum and Standards Authority’s Earth and Environmental Science Curriculum Advisory Committee.